@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, September 28, 2009

Fallen Firefighters Memorial and Founders Circle Celebration

Members of the Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department joined to pay homage, respect and memorialize our career and volunteer firefighters that have made the ultimate sacrifice and to those that laid the foundation to make our combined organizations the great Department it is today. On Saturday, September 26, 2009, volunteer, career and civilian members, as well as, family members and friends, gathered at the Cranford-Graves Fire Services Building in Landover Hills to remember and honor our fallen heroes. Eleven volunteer members were added to the “Founders Circle” acknowledging that their efforts within their respective departments laid the foundation and provided a direction for future generations. There were no names added to our Fallen Firefighters Memorial this year.

The event included remarks by Fire Chief Eugene A. Jones, PGCVFRA President William “Buddy” King, Ladies Auxiliary Vice-President Jennifer Gheen, and a keynote address by The Honorable C. Philip Nichols, Jr., Associate Judge for the 7th Judicial Court. Bagpipes were beautifully rendered by Dennis Thompson and a heartfelt solemn presentation of Taps by Captain Robert Kiker, Prince George’s County Office of the Sheriff.

The following individuals were added to the Founders Circle:

T. Weston Jr. and Agnes Scott – Cottage City Volunteer Fire Department
Frederick J. Robinson – Mount Rainier Volunteer Fire Department
William “Buzz” Duvall – Branchville Volunteer Fire Department
Ida Mae DeMarr – Accokeek Volunteer Fire Department
Clair M. Loughmiller, Sr. – Morningside Volunteer Fire Department
Edward Flaherty – Silver Hill Volunteer Fire Department
Maurice Sullivan – Kentland Volunteer Fire Department
Nelson R. Alcock- Chillum-Adelphi Volunteer Fire Department
Henry W. Wynkoop, Jr. – Greenbelt Volunteer Fire Department
Cecil I. Peyton – Brandywine Volunteer Fire Department

SOURCE: Individual names and Department names provided by the Prince George’s County Volunteer Fire/Rescue Association.

Remarks from Fire Chief Eugene A. Jones

No comments:

Post a Comment