@PGFDPIO Twitter

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Career Recruit School #41 Graduates

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

The 41st Career Recruit School of the Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department graduated after 21 intense weeks of training. The recruits graduated on Monday, June 21, 2010, at a ceremony held at the Federal Law Enforcement Training Center on Commo Road in Cheltenham. Thirty-four recruits, 3 being EMS only, have a class motto of; “The Only Easy Day, Was Yesterday,” made a dramatic entrance into the auditorium by marching and vociferously chanting in cadence. Candidates successfully completed their respective fire and EMS classroom and physical training in firefighting, hazardous materials, emergency vehicle operations and emergency medical care. Their first day on the job as firefighters and paramedic trainees will be today, Tuesday, June 22, 2010.

The ceremony included the pomp and circumstance afforded such an event including a bagpiper, Honor Guard and personnel in their Class A dress uniforms. Dozens of County Police officials, Fire Chiefs from neighboring jurisdictions and other dignitaries were on hand to celebrate the occasion. Graduation ceremonies included congratulatory comments and words of encouragement from Fire Chief Eugene A. Jones, Public Safety Director Vernon Herron and County Council Member Ingrid Turner. The evening’s keynote address was provided by James E. Brinkley, Director of the International Association of Fire Fighters Occupational Health and Safety Office. An Oath of Office was administered by Honorable Peggy McGee, Clerk of the Circuit Court for Prince George’s County, officially, elevating their status from Recruit up to Probationary.

Career Recruit School #41 Graduates

Christopher John Abbott
Michael Alan Boone, Jr.
Carl William Buchheister, III
Tervel Isaiah Butler
Dalantae Roland Marten Caldwell
Rita Leonor Delaroca
Karrie Diane DeMarr
Alicia Rene Finn
Kristofer Albert Fitze
Patrick Thomas Gallagher
Evan Robert Goodwin
Michael Wayne Higdon
Christopher Michael Hodges
Ezra Matthew Jackson
Joseph Robert Jones, III
Joseph Michael Kemp, Jr.
Brandy Lee Kreitzer
Allen Gregory Marcellas
Jeffrey Michael Mattingly
Christina Marie McNeill
Bradley David Miller
Matthew Lewis Morris
Kevin Lee Mueller, Jr.
Gregory Anthony Powell
David Persaud Ramdial
Ryan James Sekuterski
Johnathan Marcus Sims
Keith Robert Therres
Cameron Wallace Trexler
Matthew Joseph Waters
Kyle David Welch
Brett Randall Wilson
Brandon Kent Wright
Stephen Zamary

In addition to graduation certificates and taking the Oath of Office, several deserving recruits received awards for their achievement while at the Fire/EMS Training Academy.


The Physical Fitness Award is presented to individuals in each Career Recruit School that have demonstrated outstanding physical fitness levels and performances while attending Recruit School. Physical Fitness measurements incorporate aerobic capacity, muscular strength, muscular endurance, flexibility and body mass index. Categories are male and female best overall physical fitness performance.

Best Overall for Male
Recruit Fire Fighter Joseph M. Kemp, Jr.

Best Overall for Female
Recruit Fire Fighter Karrie D. DeMarr


The Emergency Medical Technician Scholastic Achievement Award is presented to an individual who achieved the highest academic average on the emergency medical technician written examinations and practical evolutions.

Recruit Fire Fighter Christopher John J. Abbott


The Fire Suppression Scholastic Achievement Award is presented to an individual in each Career Recruit School who achieved the highest academic average on the fire suppression written examinations and practical evolutions.

Recruit Fire Fighter Christopher John J. Abbott


The Instructor’s Award is presented to an individual in each Career Recruit School who has shown the highest level of personal improvement, development, and dedication during the class. In short, we identify the recruit who has contributed significantly to the success of the class overall either by helping others or through self-improvement. The individual earning this award can be one with no previous experience in emergency services and progresses to an outstanding level of proficiency; or an experienced person who dedicates him or herself to assisting other class members be successful throughout Recruit School.

Recruit Fire Fighter Carl W. Buchheister, III


The Memorial Award is a very special recognition presented to an outstanding recruit from each Career Recruit School who has displayed that rarest combination of professionalism, courage, and "espirit de corps." Such traits serve to honor their fallen comrades, and uphold the highest traditions of the Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services Department.

Recruit Fire Fighter Jeffrey M. Mattingly


The Fire Chief's Award is the highest recognition for Career Recruit Schools. This award is bestowed on an individual in recognition of achievements that have made significant contributions to the graduating class. Selection criteria emphasize leadership, professional development, integrity, performance, and personal growth. This award is given to the recruit who best exemplifies the conduct required of the Prince George’s County Fire/EMS Department.

Recruit Fire Fighter Johnathan M. Sims

No comments:

Post a Comment