@PGFDPIO Twitter

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Hall of Fame, Past Chiefs Portraits and Special Achievement Award

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

The Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department honored members of the Department with distinguished and honorable recognition.  An event was held at the Cranford-Graves Fire Services Building in Landover Hills to induct new members into the Fire Chiefs Hall of Fame, unveil Past Chiefs Portraits and present the 2010 Special Achievement Award. 

Our Hall of Fame was created last year to specifically honor and recognize the outstanding achievements realized through “Encore Careers” that have been undertaken by our retired leadership.  Through this program, we recognize those individuals who have continued to serve the public above and beyond the multitude of years they each served PGFD.

Acting Fire Chief Marc S. Bashoor presented plaques to the two inductees and stated, “I believe one of the best means to measure the quality of leadership in this Department is witnessed in the consistent desire of our Fire Service brethren throughout the region -- and across America -- to seek out and hire the veteran personnel of PGFD into their leadership positions.”  He continued, “However, here at home, we too often tend to focus on the challenges of today and fail to remember the service of those who set that standard.  I think it is a proper and fitting for this Department to provide suitable honor and recognition to our pioneers – the people who built the National reputation of Prince George’s County, and that is what we gather here to do today.”

In addition to inducting the new members into the Hall of Fame, the Department also honored one of the 2010 inductees at today’s event.  Jim Estepp was recognized as being one of the inaugural selections into the Hall of Fame in 2010.  He received his plaque and thanked the membership for this honor.  The 2011 inductees are Randall L. Shank and Greg B. Cade. 

Randall L. Shank retired from the Prince George’s County Fire/EMS Department in 2003 after having served the citizens and residents for 21 years He was hired by the Loudon County Department of Fire, Rescue, and Emergency Management where is currently serving as Deputy Chief of Operations.

Greg B. Cade had a 24-year career with the Fire/EMS Department before retiring and serving as Fire Chief in Hampton Roads Virginia Beach, VA.  In 2007, Cade received a Presidential Appointment as the United States Fire Administrator.  He currently serves as the Division Director of Government Affairs for the National Fire Protection Association.

Two portraits were added to the Fire Chiefs Gallery in the main hallway of the Fire Services Building.  Chief Bashoor stated, “Today we will add the portraits of our two most recently retired fire chiefs to the Hall of Past Chiefs here at the Cranford/Graves Fire Services Building.  Those two gentlemen are with us this morning; Fire Chief Lawrence H. Sedgwick and Fire Chief Eugene A. Jones.” 

Addressing Lawrence H. Sedgwick, Bashoor said, “Chief Sedgwick, the accomplishments of the Department under your tenure include planning for three new Community Fire/EMS Stations, promotion of nearly one hundred sworn personnel, the hiring of four career recruit schools, and replacement of the Department’s entire emergency medical fleet.”

To Chief Jones, Bashoor stated, “You led the Department through one of the most financially austere periods in our history, successfully achieving fiscal constraint and a balanced budget throughout your tenure.  In addition, you are credited with aggressively promoting volunteer participation in all development and operational areas of the Department.  Another significant milestone is witnessed in the two new Community Fire/EMS Stations opened during your tenure.” 

Bashoor concluded by saying, “Chiefs Sedgwick and Jones, you have each served the Department and the citizens of the County admirably through some of our most challenging times, and I, along with our citizens and the men and women of this Department, thank you both for your honored and distinguished service.”

Chief Jones and Bashoor then presented the one of the Fire/EMS Departments most prestigious awards; The Fire Chiefs Special Achievement Award.  Fire Chief Jones chose the 2010 recipient in concurrence with Acting Chief Bashoor.  The award was presented to Battalion Chief Denise L. Dickens for her work as the Equal Employment Officer and other associated duties in assisting the Fire Chief in the performance of his duties.
Acting Chief Bashoor and Hall of Fame M.H. "Jim" Estepp

Acting Chief Bashoor and Hall of Fame Randall L. Shank

Acting Chief Bashoor and Hall of Fame Greg B. Cade

Bashoor and Sedgwick unveil his portrait.

Portrait unveiling for Eugene A. Jones

L to R Randy Shank, Billy Goddard (Howard County Fire Chief), Greg Cade, Lawrence H. Sedgwick, Marc Bashoor, Jim Estepp and Eugene A. Jones.

Eugene A. Jones

Lawrence H. Sedgwick

Chief Jones and Chief Bashoor present the Departments Special Achievement Award to Battalion Chief Denise Dickens.

No comments:

Post a Comment