@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, June 27, 2011

Bowie Volunteer Elected as 1st Vice-President of Regional Organization.

At the 2011 Annual Conference of the Eastern Division of the International Association of Fire Chiefs (IAFC), Bowie Volunteer Fire Department's Deputy Chief Pete Mellits was elected to the 1st Vice President of the Division, which was held in Wilmington, Delaware at the end of May. He previously held the 2nd Vice President position. Pete currently serves as Deputy Chief - Station Chief of the Northview Station (PGFD Company 16), as part of his other assigned emergency operational/administrative duties within the Bowie Volunteer Fire Department. In addition, Pete serves as the Secretary for the Maryland Fire Chiefs Association.

The Eastern Division of the International Association of Fire Chiefs represents Fire and Emergency Services Leaders from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania and the District of Columbia.  Prince George's County Acting Fire Chief Marc S. Bashoor and Lt. Colonel Jerry L. LaMoria attended the Annual Conference and presented a class on a Safety and Investigative Report that involved a firefighter sustaining serious injuires fighting a house fire in Kettering.

The mission of the Eastern Division is to support the goals and objectives of the International Association of Fire Chiefs by serving as the liaison between the IAFC and the Division’s member states. The Eastern Division will do this by professionally consolidating regional issues and opinions, providing valuable and necessary input to the IAFC, and disseminating pertinent information from the International Association of Fire Chiefs to the Division's member states.

The Eastern Division supports the IAFC mission “To provide leadership to career and volunteer chiefs, chief fire officers and managers of emergency services organizations throughout the international community through vision, information, education, services and representation to enhance their professionalism and capabilities.” 

(L-R) John Roth - Mont. Co., Paul Sterling - MD Director, Pete Mellits, James Seavey - Past President, and Hugh Owens - Prince George's County

No comments:

Post a Comment