@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, March 12, 2012

Career Recruit School #45 Starts Today

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (CRS) Department commenced today with Career Recruit School #45 with 27 students.  Career Recruit School 45 will receive months of training, however, not nearly as long as previous recruit schools.  All 27 recruits already have certification as an Emergency Medical Technician up to some with Paramedic status.  The recruits will take an EMT recertification and protocol update class instead of having to take the entire course.  Recruits will also learn and be nationally certified as firefighters.  The Prince George’s County Fire/EMS Training Academy is located in Cheltenham.

Fire Chief Marc Bashoor, Deputy and Assistant Fire Chief's as well as civilian managers, administrative personnel and staff from the training academy met the recruits this morning as they started their first day.  Recruits had the opportunity to introduce themselves and speak briefly on their background.

Bashoor provided words of welcome, encouragement and provided a bit of Department history to the recruits and told them, “You should take these themes of safety, pride, and continuous improvement to heart now, from the onset of your employment, rather than as a result of remembering about them after some critical incident in the future.  To help you, your instructors will drill these 3 simple phrases into your minds over the coming weeks; risk little, to save little; risk a lot, to save a lot; risk nothing, to save nothing.”

The Fire/EMS Department will start CRS #46 during the first week of May.  CRS #46 will have about 33 recruits. 

The application period for hiring new firefighters will open on or about April 6, 2012.

The following comprise Career Recruit School #45

Alcala, Samuel P.
Babczak, Matthew E.
Balma, Walter J.
Bascom, Lester H.
Brewster, Aaron A.
Bridges, Dominique A.
Bynum, Joshua D.
Byrd-Whitehead, Latrice B.
Chong, Justin W.
D'Angelo, Dino M.
Decker, Kenneth V.
Gonzales, Daniel L.
Gosman, Justin G.
Gum, Matthew L.
Hurt, Marcus J.
Jansky, Joshua M.
Jefferson, Michael K.
Johnson, Marquet F.
LaGrave, Rosanna L.
Moore, Lawrence A.
Oliver, John R.
Renick, Lori B.
Sanna, Evan T.
Scott, Amos B.
Smith, Anthony M.
Stagnaro, Clifton V.
Walker, Grant L.

Fire Chief Bashoor (standing) and Deputy Fire Chiefs (L to R) Hoglander, Barksdale, Dennis and Underwood.

No comments:

Post a Comment