@PGFDPIO Twitter

Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Former PGFD Fire Chief Receives 2012 Everett E. Hudiburg Award

We are pleased to pass along good news about former Prince George's County Fire Chief Ronald J. Siarnicki.  Ron is not only our former Fire Chief he remains a good friend and mentor to many members of our Department.  Ron received a very prestigious award that he is well deserving of.  Congratulations Ron!!!

National Fallen Firefighters Foundation
Foundation E-News Alert

July 16, 2012

Chief Ronald J. Siarnicki Receives 2012 Everett E. Hudiburg Award

In recognition of outstanding contributions to the training of our nation's firefighters, the International Fire Service Training Association (IFSTA) presented the 2012 Everett E. Hudiburg award to Chief Ronald J. Siarnicki, Executive Director of the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation during the IFSTA Validation Conference on July 14. The award is named in honor of Hudiburg who was a former Stillwater, OK Fire Chief, former Editor of Fire Protection Publications and the first Executive Director of the Fire Service Training Association, now known IFSTA.

Chief Siarnicki joins some of the nation's most notable fire service leaders who have set the national standard of achievement for training and education, including: John Hoglund, Lou Amabili, Carroll Herring, Alan Brunacini, Gerald Monigold, Marvin Austin, Harold Mace, and more recently Steve Edwards, Dr. Denis Onieal, and Billy Goldfeder.

Ronald J. Siarnicki began his career as a volunteer firefighter in Monessen, Pennsylvania. He joined the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department in 1978 and, over 24 years, progressed through the ranks to Chief of the Department. In 2001, he retired from PGFD and was appointed Executive Director of the National Fallen Firefighters Foundation where he manages the daily operations of the Foundation. Under his direction, the Foundation developed the Everyone Goes Home® Program designed to reduce the number of firefighter line-of-duty deaths that occur each year in the United States.

Chief Siarnicki accepted the award on behalf of the Foundation, the board of directors, the survivors of the fallen and in recognition of the Everyone Goes Home® Program. "The overall mission of Everyone Goes Home is to remind firefighters that personal accountability is critical," he explained. "We want everyone to arrive at the scene quickly and safely. And to return quickly and safely to the people who love them."

In addition, he has been recognized for his outstanding leadership by numerous organizations, including: The Fire Engineering Lifetime Achievement Award, Alan Brunacini Fire Services Executive Safety Award from the International Association of Fire Chiefs, Metropolitan Fire Chiefs' Presidents Award of Distinction, University of Maryland, University College Distinguished Alumnus, American Burn Association's Moncrief Award and the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Silver Medal of Valor.

Chief Siarnicki holds a Bachelor's Degree in Fire Science and a Master's Degree in Technology Management from the University of Maryland University College (UMUC).

The NFFF is also pleased that Dan Madrzykowski of the National Institute of Standards and Technology received IFSTA's Dr. John Granito Award for Excellence in Fire Leadership and Management Research Award. This award is presented for exceptional contributions to fire service and academia.

No comments:

Post a Comment