@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, February 11, 2013

Firefighter and Paramedic Cancer Presumption Bill Under Attack


Fire Fighters Cancer Presumption Bill Under Attack

Brothers and Sisters,

Fire Fighters and Paramedics face a new fight in the Maryland General Assembly this year. Two pieces of proposed legislation, one in the House of Delegates and the other in the State Senate, threaten to make it harder for our members who suffer from cancer to file a claim with the Workers Compensation Commission.

In 2012, the Maryland General Assembly passed the Fire Fighter Cancer Presumption Bill (House Bill 1101). This legislation amended Section 9-503 of the State of Maryland Workers Compensation law to add Brain Cancer, Breast Cancer, Testicular Cancer, Multiple Myeloma, and Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma to the list of cancers that are presumed to be job-related and contracted in the course of duty as a fire fighter or paramedic. This law was slated to take effect on June 1, 2013.

In an attempt to stall this important legislation from taking effect, the Maryland Association of Counties (MACO) has solicited a number of elected officials to sponsor legislation that would delay implementation of these presumption protections for an additional two years. Within the last week, Senate Bill 681 and House Bill 1314 were filed and assigned Committee hearing dates. If enacted, these bills would halt the progress that we have made in helping ensure that our members who suffer from these cancers have the best treatment available and much needed financial assistance for their families.

Our lobbying efforts are in full swing to defeat this legislation. However, we also need your help. It is imperative that you contact your State Delegates and State Senator and also contact the co-sponsors of this legislation. We have provided direct contact information for the co-sponsors below. Please contact them by both phone and email to voice your opposition to Senate Bill 681 and House Bill 1314. If you do not receive a response, then contact the elected official again. The time for action is now. Please feel free to contact me with any questions or concerns.

Fraternally,

Andrew Pantelis
President
Prince George's County Professional Fire Fighters & Paramedics Association, IAFF Local 1619

Senate Bill 681 - Sponsors

Senator Thomas Mac Middleton
District 28 Charles County
301-858-3616
thomas.mcclain.middleton@senate.state.md.us

Senator Katherine Klausmeier
District 8 - Baltimore County
410-841-3620
katherine.klausmeier@senate.state.md.us

Senator John Astle
District 30 Anne Arundel County
410-841-3578
john.astle@senate.state.md.us

Senator Delores Kelley
District 10  Baltimore County
410-841-3606
delores.kelley@senate.state.md.us

Senator Allan Kittleman
District 9 Carroll & Howard Counties
410-841-3671
allan.kittleman@senate.state.md.us

Senator E.J. Pipkin
District 36 - Kent, Queen Anne's, Cecil, & Caroline Counties
410-841-3639
ej.pipkin@senate.state.md.us

House Bill 1314 Sponsors

Delegate Sally Jameson
District 28 Charles County
301-858-3337
sally.jameson@house.state.md.us

Delegate Galen Clagett
District 3A Frederick County
301-858-3436
galen.clagett@house.state.md.us

Delegate Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio
District 37B - Caroline, Dorchester, Talbot, & Wicomico Counties
410-841-3429
jeannie.haddaway@house.state.md.us

Delegate Mary Ann Love
District 32 Anne Arundel County
410-841-3511
maryann.love@house.state.md.us

Delegate Joseph Minnick
District 6 Baltimore County
410-841-3332
joseph.minnick@house.state.md.us

Delegate Kelly Schulz
District 4A  Frederick County
410-841-3080
kelly.schulz@house.state.md.us


No comments:

Post a Comment