@PGFDPIO Twitter

Friday, June 12, 2015

Investigators Awarded for "Movie Theatre Bottle Bomb" Investigation and Arrest

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930
mebrady@co.pg.md.us     @PGFDPIO

A Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department Unit Citation in recognition of outstanding teamwork and dedication in a multi-agency investigation was presented today.  A Unit Citation is the highest non-valor award that the Departments can present.  It demonstrates a group of units or individuals worked together to mitigate an emergency or danger to the community.  Prince George's County Fire Chief Marc S. Bashoor and Deputy Fire Chief Ben M. Barksdale presided over the awards ceremony.  In addition to Fire Investigators and Bomb Squad, a civilian, County Police Officer and a Deputy State Fire Marshal were part of the Unit Citation.

In attendance were Maryland State Fire Marshal Brian S. Geraci, County Police Captain John A. Boesman and Lieutenant Kirk L. McLean.

Following a multi-agency investigation, 20-year-old Manual Joyner Bell, Jr., of Bowie, was arrested and charged with the manufacture, possession, and detonation of a destructive device in connection with a Prince George's County “bottle bombing” incident that occurred on May 24, 2014, at the Magic Johnson Theater in Largo, Maryland.  The subject is also considered a suspect in in multiple bottle bombings incidents across the region, which took place over the weeks previous to his arrest. 

Shortly after the arrest on Saturday, May 31, 2014, investigators from the Prince George's County Office of the Fire Marshal—joined by the Prince George's County Police, the Prince George's County States Attorney’s Office, Maryland Office of the State Fire Marshal, the Anne Arundel County Police and Fire Departments, the Montgomery County Police and Fire Departments, the Alexandria Police and Fire Departments, the Fairfax County Police and Fire Departments, as well as the ATF and the FBI — executed a search warrant at a home in the 600 block of Stillwater Place, Bowie, Maryland.  In addition to those who assisted in the search, other local jurisdiction Police Departments also assisted during this investigation.

Joyner Bell's co-defendant, Michael Hollingsworth, will be sentenced on June 30.
Hollingsworth pleaded guilty to one count of conspiracy to manufacture a destructive device.

While making the award presentation, County Fire Chief Marc S. Bashoor stated, “The efforts of everyone involved exemplify dedication and commitment to the safety of the citizens of Prince George’s County.  Without your selfless acts, the perpetrator of these crimes may have never been identified and apprehended.”

Location Name
Location Address
Cinemark Egyptian 24
700 Arundel Mills Circle, Hanover, MD
AMC Theatres Hoffman Center
206 Swamp Fox Rd, Alexandria, VA
Majestic Theater Regal
900 Ellsworth Dr, Silver Spring, MD
AMC Tysons Corner 16
7850 Tysons Corner Center, Mclean, VA
AMC Magic Johnson Capital Center
800 Shoppers Way, Largo, MD
AMC Tysons Corner 16
7850 Tysons Corner Center, Mclean, VA

A plaque with the recipients names will be placed with numerous other Unit Citations
at the Prince George's County Office of the Fire Marshal in Lanham. 

Following a multi-agency investigation, on May 31, 2014, a suspect was charged with the manufacture, possession, and detonation of a destructive device in connection with an explosion at the Magic Johnson Movie Theatre in Largo, Maryland.        

Deputy Fire Chief Retired Scott K. Hoglander
Assistant Fire Chief Paul J. Cruz
Acting Battalion Chief Retired Brian S. Radinsky
Fire Captain Shajahan K. Jagtiani
Fire Captain Brandon M. Goff
Fire Captain Binokhar J. Harris/K-9 Tango
Fire Lieutenant Rafael Wells
Acting Fire Lieutenant Jennifer Lawhorne
Acting Fire Lieutenant Jamieson P. Scarlata
Acting Fire Lieutenant Justin M. Shea
Fire Investigator Aaron Tyler
Fire Investigator Wayne A. Crosby
Civilian Investigator John D. Baione
Civilian Investigator William A. Murray
Fire Chief’s Aide William J. Hawkins
Administrative Aide IV Mary L. Blocker
Police Sergeant William P. Norris
Police Officer First Class Andrew J. Cummings, III
Deputy State Fire Marshal Sander B. Cohen

Are hereby recognized for outstanding teamwork
and dedication in the performance of duties.

Marc S. Bashoor, Fire Chief
June 11, 2015

No comments:

Post a Comment