@PGFDPIO Twitter

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

Fire/EMS Promotional Ceremony

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

On March 22, a ceremony was held to recognize all the members of the Fire/EMS Department that were promoted over the past year.  The ceremony was hosted and dnner provided by the Prince George's County International Association of Firefighters and Paramedics Local 1619 and held at their Florian Hall in Bowie, Maryland.  Guests included Council Member Mary Lehman, Deputy Chief Administrative Officer for Public Safety Barry L. Stanton, County Police Chief Mark Magaw, County Assistant Police Chief Kevin Davis, Department of Corrections Director Mary Lou McDonough and Director of the Office of Emergency Management Ron Gill.

The ceremony was well attended by nearly 150 people including the Fire/EMS Departments Deputy Fire Chiefs, a majority of the Assistant Fire Chief's and those promoted along with their family, friends and co-workers.  The event opened with a Presentation of Colors by the Fire/EMS Departments Honor Guard with a beautiful offering of the National Anthem by Bridgette P. Wilson.  Chaplain Paul Brown opened and closed the event with blessing and prayers.  Speakers included Local IAFF 1619 President Andrew Pantelis, Council Member Lehman, Mr. Stanton and Fire Chief Bashoor.

Fire Chief Bashoor stated, "Over the past year, you have accepted a new opportunity of leadership within the Prince George's County Fire/EMS Department. If you have not heard it from me before, you will now. As you ponder your responsibilities, use your education, experience, and these few simple words as the foundations for your success – those words – 'Just Do The Right Thing.'   I have lived by that quote my entire career."  he continued saying, "There's no book on the shelf and no plaque on the wall to explain what the right thing is. You have to learn it - you have to know it."

Each promotee that attended the event was presented a certificate of promotion and a congratulatory letter.

Congratulations to all those promoted, we look forward to seeing you again next year!!!. 

List of Promotions from March 2011 to March 2012 -

Fire Chief's Special Achievement Award Presented to Two Members

MEDIA CONTACT: Diane V. Cunningham, PIO Administrative Aide, 301-883-5222 

On Thursday, March 22, 2012, Prince George’s County Fire Chief Marc S. Bashoor presented two members of his Department with The Fire Chief’s Special Achievement Award. This is an honorary award that is presented each year to an individual or individuals who exemplify a spirit of service, evidenced by their unselfish commitment to others.

William J. Hawkins, Aide to the Fire Chief, was the first recipient of the Fire Chief’s Special Achievement Award. He has served the Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) for over 30 years, initially as a volunteer then as an employee. Chief Bashoor stated, “Hawk has continually absorbed every task put in front of him, even after having suffered several personal and family tragedies in the past year. He has done absolutely everything I and this department has asked, and more. From loading and distributing protective gear to recruits; running the breathing air truck and filling breathing air bottles all over the County; setting up public outreach displays; managing vehicle maintenance for the Fire Chief’s office; or driving me from point A to point B, this guy does it all without complaint. It is my honor to award the 2011 Fire Chief’s Special Achievement award to William Hawkins.”

The recipient of the second award was Assistant Fire Chief Richard M. Lambdin, Manager of Facilities/Resource Planning. “I am equally honored to present this award to Assistant Fire Chief Lambdin. He has answered the call whenever it comes. His responsibilities for facilities and resource planning cross the gamut, from testing and vetting new recruits to coordinating construction and facility maintenance concerns at nearly 50 facilities—including coordination with the 37 Volunteer Fire/Rescue Corporations that reside in those facilities. Along with others, he has overseen the hiring of nearly 300 personnel; the construction and opening of 3 new fire/EMS stations; and the planning for 3 additional stations. After 20 years on the job, he has recently announced his retirement. He has accepted the position of Fire Chief for the Whispering Pines North Carolina Fire Department. They are fortunate to get him, and he will be sorely missed in our Department,” said Chief Bashoor.

This year's Special Achievement Award recipients will have their names entered on a plaque that resides in the Office of the Fire Chief.  Previous recipients of this prestigious award include:

The following individuals are the Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department’s past recipients of this award.

James R. Miller 1978

Allan Hamilton 1979

John Jarboe 1980

Emory E. Berry 1981

Pierce M. Damewood 1982*

Ralph N. Small 1982

Barbara “Sandy” Lee 1983

Walter S. Lanier 1984

Karl Granzow 1985

H. J. (John) Crisman 1986

Elezabeth J. Redding 1987

Edward L. Killen 1988*

Richard T. Williams 1988

Mary Helen Naecker 1989

Stephen M. Ager 1990

Michael L. Wright 1991

Marie Newman 1992

Richard A. Rahilly 1993*

William J. Hawkins 1993

Charles B. Burton 1994

Stephen E. Allen, Sr. 1995

William R. McGown 1996*

Eugene A. Jones 1996

Warren D. Litchfield 1996

George H. Linnell 1997

Marc S. Bashoor 1998

Elizabeth U. Berg 1999

Ryland O. Jones 2000

Reginald A. Parks 2001

William H. McNeel 2002

Sylvia M. Franklin, Ph.D 2005

Victor Stagnaro 2008

Angela M. Peden 2009*

Mark E. Brady 2009

Denise L. Dickens 2010

An asterisk has been placed beside each year in which there were multiple award recipients. Please note there were no recipients in 2003, 2004, 2006 and 2007.