@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, March 20, 2017

Fire Fighter/Medic Captain Attains Professional Designation as "Fire Officer"

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930
MEBrady@co.pg.md.us     @PGFDPIO

Fire Fighter/Medic Captain James M. Jiron
Prince George’s County Fire Fighter/Medic Captain James M. Jiron has successfully completed the process for the professional designation of “Fire Officer”.  The Commission on Professional Credentialing (CPC) officially titled Jiron on February 7, 2017, making him one of only 370 fire officers worldwide.

Additionally, Captain Jiron has been selected as one of the inaugural recipients of the Michael Worthington Fire Officer Designation Scholarship.  

This scholarship covers the application process and cost of registration for the 2017 Center for Public Safety Excellence Conference in Anaheim, California, where he will be recognized as one of five recipients from across the Country.

The CPC awards the Fire Officer designation following an individual’s successful completion of the organization’s stringent criteria.  The process includes an assessment of the applicant’s education, experience, professional development, technical competencies, contributions to the profession, and community involvement.  In addition, all applicants are required to identify a future development plan.

The Fire Officer Designation Program uses a comprehensive peer review model to evaluate candidates seeking the credential.

The CPC, an entity of the Center for Public Safety Excellence, Inc., administers the Fire Officer Designation Program.  It consists of individuals from academia, federal and local government, and the fire and emergency medical services profession.  To learn more about CPC, visit www.publicsafetyexcellence.org.

Captain James Jiron currently serves as a Department Safety Officer.  In this position he is responsible for overall safe procedures on both emergency and non-emergency incidents.  He received a Bronze Medal of Valor in 2011, for discovering a burning house, while off duty, and successfully removing two occupants before they were injured.

 Additional story on Captain James Jiron:

Annual Public Safety Valor Awards Luncheon - PGFD Recipient List

Annual Public Safety Valor Awards Luncheon

On Wednesday, April 26, 2017, Prince George’s County will hold its 40th Annual Public Safety Valor Awards Luncheon. This event, as you know, is the official award ceremony for the public safety agencies. It would be a fitting tribute to the award recipients to have as many Department personnel as possible in attendance.

The class and dignity of this auspicious occasion have always impressed those who have attended in the past.  If you are interested in attending, please contact the Office of the Fire Chief at 301-883-5204, no later than Thursday, April 20, 2017. I look forward to seeing many of you there.

Cost: $45 per person
$450 table of ten
(Make checks payable to: Prince George’s County Public Safety Assistance Program)

Date: Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Time: 11:30 a.m. – 2:00 p.m.

Place: Martin’s Crosswinds
7400 Greenway Center Drive
Greenbelt, Maryland 20770

Dress: Full Dress Uniform or Appropriate Attire


RSVP by Thursday, April 20, 2017 – 301-883-5204

        Congratulations are in order for the following Fire/EMS Department members 
that will be recognized during this event:

Retired Lieutenant Colonel Tyrone N. Wells
Assistant Fire Chief Darren O. Ware
Volunteer Assistant Chief William O. Cunningham, Jr.
Battalion Chief Donald V. Fletcher
Fire Fighter/Medic Captain Robert G. Bilko
Fire Fighter/Medic Captain Stephanie A. Buffum
Fire Fighter/Medic Lieutenant Christopher B. Blackistone
Fire Fighter/Medic Lieutenant Michael A. Dowling
Paramedic Lieutenant Pamela J. Graham
Fire Fighter/Medic Andrew C. Rohrbaugh
Fire Fighter Phillip A. Crooks
Fire Fighter Christopher M. DeForest
Fire Fighter John P. Jenkins
Fire Fighter Miguel Ocasio
Fire Fighter William L. Philpott
Fire Fighter Thomas Rhodes
Fire Fighter Samuel H. Singleton
Fire Fighter Matthew J. Tippett
Fire Fighter Aaron Van Schoonhoven
Volunteer Captain David Riley
Volunteer Fire Fighter Branden Fitch
Volunteer Fire Fighter Shaquita Livingston
Volunteer Lieutenant Michael O’Brien
Volunteer Fire Fighter Matthew K. Ward

        Additionally, Fire Fighter/Medic Captain Christopher E. Hill and Fire Fighter/Medic Lieutenant John E. Ulmschneider will receive posthumous honors at this ceremony.