@PGFDPIO Twitter

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Second Battalion Community Outreach and Public Education

Firefighters from the Second Battalion conducted several Fire Prevention demonstrations to young students throughout their area during the month of October.

Firefighters from Fire/EMS Station 843 visited the Pointer Ridge Elementary School

Students from the Northview Elementary School visited the Northview Fire/EMS Station

Career Recruit School 49 Commences

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

The Prince George's County Fire/Emergency Medical Services Department is proud to announce the start of Career Recruit School 49.  Thirty-one recruits started the Fire/EMS Training Academy on Monday, October 21, 2013.  The academy class will take up to 6 months to complete with a number of recruits with previous experience will be released earlier.

Prince George's County Fire/EMS Chief Marc S. Bashoor and his Command Staff greeted the recruits on Wednesday, October 22 at the Training Academy in Cheltenham.  In his opening comments Chief Bashoor stated, "In the coming weeks, your Training Academy instructors will instill a measure of discipline and respect that you should cherish.  You must realize this is merely a starting line. From this point forward, the satisfaction and reward you receive from this calling will depend in large part on what you choose to contribute."  Bashoor concluded by saying, "For those 19 year old recruits in the room – you are not in High School any longer – you MUST apply yourself and successfully complete everything your instructors teach and test you on.  Your job, and ultimately your LIFE depend on it."

The members of Career Recruit School #49 are:

Buehler, Brett
Clarke, Fredrick
Coleman, Phillip
DeForest, Christopher
Delgado, Mark
Greene, Marcus
Groce, Charles
Haden, Chad
Hayden, Thomas             
Harvey-Bowen, Alan
Height, Javon
Hood, Jarden
Hosselrode, Brandon
Hull, Harry
Ivey, Kyle
Jones, Bradley
Kiefer, Brian
Krichbaum, Anthony
Lozada, Eric
Lucas, Lauren
Marsal, John
Morrison, Christopher
Ocasio, Miguel
Ogilivie III, Robert
Parker, Michael
Proffen, Zachary
Robert, Jesse
Simms, Steven
Von Den Steinen, Matthew
Wierzbolowicz, David
Williams, James