@PGFDPIO Twitter

Monday, September 30, 2013

Mount Rainier House Fire - One Civilian Injury - (Updated 1445 hours)

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930

Prince George’s County Firefighters battled a fire in a Mount Rainier house originally constructed in 1922 this morning.  At about 10:30 am, Monday, September 30, firefighters arrived at a 2-story, nearly 1400 square feet, single family home at 3200 Shepherd Street with fire showing from the first floor.  Firefighters not only had to battle the fire but also cluttered conditions making movement inside the home a challenge.  There was some fire extension to a portion of the second floor before being completely extinguished. 

An adult male, 20ish, escaped the fire before the Fire/EMS Department arrival.  He sustained burn injuries to his lower extremities and was transported to a nearby Burn Unit in fair condition.   This was the only injury reported.

 A total of three occupants are displaced as a result of the fire damage.  They are receiving assistance from the County Citizen Services Unit with temporary arrangements. 

There were 35 firefighters and medics on the scene.  It required 12 minutes to extinguish the fire.  The on scene cause and origin investigation is complete with the case remaining open and on going. Fire loss is estimated at $30,000.

Volunteer Fire/Rescue Association Convention

The Prince George's County Volunteer Fire & Rescue Association (PGCVFRA) and Ladies Auxiliary recently held their Annual Convention.  The week long event included some of the conventions events  field competitions, parade, memorial service, business meetings, tribute dinners and election of officers (pi.   The convention was hosted by the Greenbelt Volunteer Fire Department and Rescue Squad, Inc. and Ladies Auxiliary.

The following information was provided by Brenda Ellis Sarmiento.  On Friday, September 20, 2013, the PGVFRA elected their new officers for 2013-2014, as follows:

President: Pete Mellits
1st Vice President: Dave McGill
2nd Vice President: Janet Demeritt
Secretary: Margie Dickey
Treasurer: Joan Robison
Chief Chaplain: Warren Litchfield
Chaplain: Harry Hetz
Chaplain: Jim Neal
Chaplain: Elaine Huttenloch
Board of Directors:
John Hughes, District 1
Curtis King, District 2
Glenn Locker, District 3
Hilmer Porter, District 4
Bobby Breen, District 5
Charlie Phillips, District 6

Ladies Auxiliary - Kristi Gardiner Grinder, Branchville VFD, was installed as the President of the Ladies Auxiliary of the PGCVFRA for 2013-2014.

Frank Underwood administers the Oath of Office to the PGCVFRA Officer for 2013-2014.
(photo by Jenn Underwood Wilbanks).

The following information was provided by PGCVFRA Secretary Margie Dickey.

Convention Award Recipients for 2013

      F/F of the Year – Xander Trophy

Lt. Mike Simmons and Lt. John Lescure, West Lanham Hills VFD

      Jr. F/F – Beard Trophy – Christopher Connor, Beltsville VFD

      Humane Award Roy “Tony” Hall – Baden VFD

      Fire Prevention – Chaney Trophy

Michael Schaffer, Beltsville VFD

      Heavy Duty Rescue Squad – Robison Trophy

Morningside Squad 27

      Rescue Squadsman of the Year – Brown Trophy

Lt. Timothy Patrick McCloskey – Kentland VFD

      Amb/Squad of the Year – Doc Leonard

Unit Citation for units from 45, 40, 47, 56, and 57. The incident was on 2/2/13 at 1600 Croom Airport Road.

      Fire/EMS Person of the Year - Rodney Gilbert

Shirley and Buddy Boswell – Baden VFD

      Rescue of the Year- Corder Trophy

Capt Richard Green and crew from Kentland VFD

      George Linnell Trophy Jason Poteat, Glenn Dale VFD 

   Members of the Laurel VFD Honor Guard received special
recognition for their distinguished service

  • Most Training Hours

Single Station - College Park Volunteer Fire Department Station 12

Multi-Station - Bowie Volunteer Fire Department Stations 19/39/43

Hall of Fame Inductees: Representing 423 combined years of service

      Donald “Chris” Fleshman – Greenbelt VFD
      Richard Riley – Kentland VFD
      Robert Hedrick – Baden VFD
      Robert “Pops” Allen – Beltsville VFD
      Steve “Hump” Flora – Beltsville VFD
      Charles “Chuck” Fusco – Berwyn Heights VFD
      Rodney Leser – Branchville VFD
      Nelson Allcock – Chillum Adelphi VFD
      Sandi Lutz – Glenn Dale VFD
      Thomas Wells – Hillside and Marlboro VFD

Ladies Auxiliary Hall of Fame Inductees:

      Marjory Taymen
      Edna Pitts
      Doris Lehman
      Teri Heinicke
      Jennifer Johnson