@PGFDPIO Twitter

Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Crews Recognized for Handling a Horrific Crash - Oxon Hill

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930
mebrady@co.pg.md.us     @PGFDPIO

photo by: Teresa Ann Crisman, PGFD
On Tuesday, May 26, Prince George's County Firefighter/Medics, career and volunteer, were recognized for their actions in one of the most horrific crashes seen in the County.  Each received a Prince George’s County Fire/Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Department Emergency Services Award.  The award ceremony was held at the Oxon Hill Fire/EMS Station 842 in Glassmanor.

On the evening of Tuesday, October 10, 2014, Fire/EMS Department units responded to Livingston Road and Livingston Terrace in Oxon Hill for the report of a motor vehicle collision.  On arrival, personnel confronted a scene that could only be described as “horrific”.  The accident involved eight victims, of which three adults and two children eventually succumbed to their injuries.  Despite the extreme chaos in the midst of this tragedy, crews quickly and efficiently handled the triage, treatment, and transport. 

Loss of a life is difficult for any public safety professional, even more so when it is the life of a child.  This mass casualty incident both taxed the Department’s resources and tested the endurance of everyone involved.  Nevertheless, crews were able to maintain their composure and perform their duties at an exemplary level.  While not everyone dealt with the same patients or level of intensity as the initial responding units, each played a role in mitigating this event.

"Your performance on the scene of the aforementioned incident was commendable and is worthy of recognition," said Fire Chief Marc Bashoor.  "Therefore, you are hereby awarded a Fire/EMS Department Emergency Services Award.  Your actions speak well of you personally and professionally and exemplify the excellent caliber of service the Fire/EMS Department strives to provide to the residents of Prince George’s County."

The following members were recognized with an Emergency Services Award

Volunteer Deputy Chief Napoleon Epps                                  
Assistant Fire Chief Robert B. Wallace (retired)                     
Battalion Chief Steven H. Kling                                              
Paramedic Captain Ola A. Akintunde                                      
Lieutenant Todd M. Szelkowski                                              
Lieutenant Christopher Whittington                                        
Paramedic Lieutenant Kristine J. Piazza                                  
Fire Fighter/Medic Technician Edward J. Haaxma                  
Fire Fighter/Medic Lester H. Bascum                                      
Fire Fighter/Medic James A. Harris, Jr.                                   
Fire Fighter/Medic Christopher G. Hastings                            
Fire Fighter/Medic Marcus E. Johnson                                    
Fire Fighter/Medic Christopher D. Klinepeter                         
Fire Fighter/Medic Andrew C. Rohrbugh                                
Fire Fighter Joseph C. Ford 
Fire Fighter Matthew J. Lockwood
Fire Fighter James T. Miller
Fire Fighter Sean D. Moorehouse
Fire Fighter John R. Oliver
Fire Fighter Joseph B. Quade
Fire Fighter Ryan J. Sekuterski
Fire Fighter Robert J. Stewart
Fire Fighter Matthew J. Tippett
Fire Fighter David E. Wierbolowciz
Fire Fighter Stephen Zamary
Paramedic Christine N. Branan
Paramedic Brittany A. Joy
Volunteer Fire Fighter Daniel Smith