@PGFDPIO Twitter

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Laurel House Fire Sends 3 Occupants to Hospital

MEDIA CONTACT: Mark E. Brady, Chief Spokesperson, 240-508-7930
mebrady@co.pg.md.us     @PGFDPIO

Three residents of a Laurel home were hospitalized after a fire damaged their home this morning.  At about 10:15 am, Saturday, January 11, 2014, firefighters from the Laurel area arrived at a single family home in the 15600 block of Haynes Road and encountered fire showing from the first floor.

Firefighters knocked down the fire quickly and found three residents had been exposed to high heat and thick smoke while exiting the home and before the Fire/EMS Department arrival.  It appears that some of the exposure may have occurred in attempts to rescue their dog that, unfortunately, perished in the fire.

An adult female was transported to a Burn Unit as a precaution for her exposure to heat and and smoke.  Two adult males were transported to a local hospital for their exposure injuries.  All the injured are in good condition with non-life threatening injuries.

The cause of the fire appears to be accidental, however, fire investigators are still working on the exact cause of the fire.  A preliminary fire loss is estimated at $20,000.

PGFD Captain and Technician Promotions

Prince George's County Fire/EMS Chief Marc S. Bashoor announced the promotions of 39 personnel yesterday.  In announcing the promotions Chief Bashoor stated, "With the recent promotional process completion and release of the new Captains and Technicians lists, I am pleased to announce a significant number of promotions.  Please join me in congratulating the following folks on their promotions effective Sunday January 12, 2014."

  • Captain Michael Glaubitz
  • Captain Michael Lambert
  • Captain Bryan Spies
  • Captain Ernest Lindqvist
  • Captain Philip Bird
  • Captain Jason Wiseman
  • Captain Brandon Goff
  • Captain Bruce Bridgett
  • Captain Melissa Smothers
  • Captain John Griffin
  • Captain Jesse Constantino
  • Captain Oluwafemi Balogen
  • Captain Jacqueline Riley
  • Captain Gregory Strickler
  • Captain James McClelland
  • Captain Robert Bilko
  • Captain Lance Hagood
  • Captain Binokhar Harris 
  • Captain Mathew Miller
  • Captain Akpenamawu Habib

  • Technician Charles Lisko
  • Technician Christopher Abbott
  • Technician Kristofer Demattia
  • Technician Brian Stevens
  • Technician Bobby Blevins
  • Technician Terry McAllister
  • Technician David Mckeag
  • Technician Patrick Feehley 
  • Technician Katherine Johnson
  • Technician Marques Powell
  • Technician Donald McDowell
  • Technician Aaron White
  • Technician Stephen Reeves
  • Technician Wesley Auld
  • Technician Richard Lawhorne 
  • Technician Justin Maynard
  • Technician Benjamin Woodill
  • Technician William Serra
  • Technician David Ramdial